Awards at the National Level

Forgive me for not telling you guys this right when it happened but I was a very busy man.

Back in November of 2010 I was asked to shoot a Violinist by the name of Eric Stanley. I wanted to show how Eric playing the violin in the middle of the city of Richmond. So me and my friend and awesome photographer, Mel Kobran, put Mr. Stanley in the middle of the road and took some pictures of him.

In January the Commonwealth Times does our annual awards and we decided to enter the photo that I took into a contest that the Society of Professional Journalists at the college level does. The photo won first place in the General News Category for our region. Our region consisted of Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Maryland.

After the win in the region the photo moved on to the national level where I thought it was going to get lost in all of the other great photos. Well I was wrong. I was a National Finalist. This means that I did not take home the gold but my photo did receive second. When I received the email from our art director I was a little skeptical and I do not think that it actually set in until later that day.

As a photographer I am constantly entering new contests and I always come up short but this one was different. This past semester was one of the hardest semester school wise but my photography took a turn for the better. I continue to be blessed and I can not wait until next year. I will be working hard to advance my portfolio and take home the GOLD.

Below is the image that won. If you click on the image you will be taken to the awards.

Society of Professional Journalists National Finalist Eric Stanley Kyle LaFerriere

VCU violinist plays the violin on Broad Street in Richmond, VA.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.