Tucker Sibiga

“Remove yourself from the story.” That is the golden rule in photojournalism.

I simply can’t do that with this story. While editing these photos and getting this blog post ready, tears stream down my face.

I have now photographed the Sibigas a total of three times over the period of a month. When I walk into this little room full of peaceful babies, everything goes away. I don’t care about the world. My phone stays in my pocket and any stress that I had going in; it leaves me. Quite possibly one of the greatest feelings I have ever had. Just being around these little babies that are so helpless creates a stillness that I can’t explain.

Enough of me though, let’s talk about Tommy and Ellie (Mother and Father of Tucker). For the past 110 days they have traveled in to see their baby boy. Every day they walk the same halls pick up the same phone and see the same sights. The only thing that has changed is their little boy.

Together these three have become a family. Reading this blog post, or reading their blog will never allow us to understand what they have gone through. Yes it has been tough and I am not saying that it was easy, but if you talk to them they aren’t scared. Their relationship has grown so much from this experience because they are the only ones who truly understand what the other is feeling. They have become one of the coolest, strongest, and most loving families that I know. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your story.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.